Genetic Metabolic Dietitians International

Board of Directors

GMDI 2012-2013

GMDI is governed by its Board of Directors. The Board of Directors consists of the Executive Board (President, Past President, President Elect, Treasurer, and Secretary) and the chairs of the seven standing committees. Additional ad hoc committees can be established to accomplish particular projects, and the chairs of those committees contribute to the Board as non-voting members. The Executive Board is responsible for the daily functioning of GMDI, following the tenets set forth in the by-laws. The larger Board of Directors guides GMDI in accomplishing its mission, develops and implements activities to accomplish committee responsibilities, and supports the general goals and objectives of the association.

Sandy van Calcar, PhD, RD
President, GMDI
Metabolic Dietitian 
University of Wisconsin - Madison
Biochemical Genetics Program
Madison, WI

Dianne M. Frazier, PhD, MPH, RD
Past-President, GMDI and Chair Membership
and Nominating Committee
Professor of Pediatrics
Metabolic Dietitian 
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC


Melanie Gillingham, Phd, RD
Secretary, GMDI
Assistant Professor
Department of Medical & Molecular Genetics
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, OR

Sharon Ernst, MS, RD
Treasurer, GMDI
Cheif Metabolic Dietitian 
Department of Pediatrics
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, UT

Keiko Ueda ,MPH, RD
Chair, Membership
Clinical Dietitian Specialist
Biochemical Diseases Program
BC Children's Hospital
Vancouver, BC

Kea Crivelly, MS, RD, LDN
Chair, Editorial Committee
Hayward Genetics Center
Tulane University Medical Center
New Orleans, LA

Erin MacLeod, PhD, RD, LD
Chair, Research Committee
Research Nutritionist
Division of Genetics and Metabolism
Children's National Medical Center
Washington, DC

Shideh Mofidi, MS, RD, CSP,
Chair, Education and Training Committee
Assistant Professor
Department of Pediatrics
New York Medical College
Valhalla, NY

Kathleen Huntington, MS. RD
Chair, Communication and Advocacy Committee
Metabolic Dietitian
Oregon Health Center
Portland OR

Heather Saavedra, MS, RD, LD
Chair, Conference Planning Committee
Clinical Instructor
Department of Pediatrics
University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston - Medical Center
Houston, TX

Fran Rohr, MS, RD
Ad-Hoc Chair, Nutrition Guidelines
Clinical Nutrition Specialist
Children's Hospital of Boston
Boston, MA

Beth Ogata MS, RD
Chair, Technology Committee
University of Washington
Seattle, WA